The Library, by Sarah Stewart, Ill. David Small

 

Rating: ?/5

“Elizabeth Brown
Entered the world
Dropping straight down from the sky.

Elizabeth Brown
Entered the world
Skinny, nearsighted, and shy.”

So begins the tale of Elizabeth Brown, a girl whose life revolved around books.

When I first picked up this colorful picture book, I was excited about both the premise and David Small’s fantastic illustrations. A woman who dedicated her life to books finds she has too many and makes a decision that benefits the town she resides.

Cute story, right? Well, I have very mixed feelings about this book. I’ve loved to read since I was a little girl and would ignore my dolls and sneak some reading at night when I was supposed to be sleeping – just like the character in this story. But as much as I love reading, there is life outside the page.

This character reads in school, at home, while cleaning, while exercising and in every possible situation you can imagine. This ends up being pretty hilarious because it’s so silly. However…

“Elizabeth Brown
Preferred a book
To going on a date.

While friends went out
And danced till dawn,
She stayed up reading late.”

While I can imagine some readers thinking, “This is hilarious!”, I can also imagine others shivering: “I never want to be like that!” She misses out on a lot of life experiences because all she wants to do is read.

In all fairness, the book does allude to friends borrowing books, Elizabeth tutoring to pay her bills and moving in with a friend after she made a decision about her books. I’m just not sure if this is enough to balance this story.

Have you read this book? What do you think? Is this a funny and endearing story of a bibliophile, or is this a stereotypical and disappointing tale of unhealthy obsession?

I’m leaning towards “disappointing”, even as the bibliophile in me is screaming “how could you say that?!”

__________________________________________________________

RSS Feed
Like this blog?
Click here to subscribe to this feed in any reader or check out the sidebar for more options

Leave a Reply

