Happy Mother’s Day! – I’ll Love You Forever, by Robert Munsch, Ill. Sheila McGraw

Rating: 5/5

Happy Mother’s Day to all who toil incessantly for those they raise and love.

Motherhood has little to do with biology and more to do with caregiving, respect, and unconditional love.

I wish you all the best!

In honor of this day, I chose to write about I’ll Love you Forever; a book so powerful that the cover alone is sometimes enough to make me teary-eyed.

It begins with a mother singing to her baby:

“I’ll love you forever
I’ll love you for always
As long as I’m living
My baby you’ll be.”

The baby grows up and challenges the mother’s patience in many ways. However, her song remains the same and she rocks and sings to her child when he is asleep, even when he turns into an insufferable teen. Years pass in the blink of an eye; the mother turns old and frail and cannot rock and sing to her son any more. The roles are reversed and the son holds on to his mother gently and sings to her in her final days.

The illustrations are rife with color and show humorous images of both mother and child as he makes plenty of messes and she climbs a ladder to a second-story room to sing to him. It is a beautiful tale of the circle of life, family, and a mother’s undying love.

If you have not read this yet, you need to do so as soon as possible! Don’t forget to bring a tissue…or two.

Happy Mother’s Day!

__________________________________________________________

RSS Feed
Like this blog?
Click here to subscribe to this feed in any reader or check out the sidebar for more options

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day! – I’ll Love You Forever, by Robert Munsch, Ill. Sheila McGraw

  1. BookChook says:

    Thanks for reminding me of this book. I have seen so many people disparage it, but I can’t even read your lovely review without tearing up. In fact, my students would beg for it so often, and when I asked why they explained, “We just like seeing you cry!”

    • Prisca says:

      It’s sad to think that some people disparage this book. Unfortunately not everyone has positive experiences with their mother so this could seem unreal/surreal/extreme to some. And, of course, some people just don’t like the “sappy stuff” 😉

      But you know… If we’re so moved by a book and its message that we cry, that’s ok. Your students probably saw a new side to literature and felt comforted by the fact that you could cry so openly with them.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

