The Demon’s Lexicon, by Sarah Rees Brennan

Rating: 4/5

Rating: 4/5

Wow, it’s been a few days since I’ve had the chance to post to this blog. It’s been quite the whirlwind week since school started. Next week things should settle down to structured chaos. I am now taking two classes (one of which is statistics, yikes!), teaching an Introduction to Children’s Lit. class, and am the “go-to” person of a program for pre-service teachers. “Scheduling” has become a four letter word! But everything is working out and I am really happy about the way things turned out this summer/fall.

Will this affect my review of books, you ask? No! On the contrary, since my specialization is in Children’s Literature, I get to keep reading this for my classes! How cool is that?

Well, before classes officially began, I had the opportunity to read “The Demon’s Lexicon”, by Sarah Rees Brennan and I’m still deciding if I love it or not. The 4/5 rating means that it is a good book, but I honestly struggled between that and a 4.5 rating. It’s just one of those books I believe readers will feel really strongly about; either love or hate. I’ll wait to read book two before really deciding which way to go. In the meantime, this is a worthwhile read!

Nick and Alan are two brothers on the run from the different circles of magicians that want the amulet their mother wears around her neck. Unfortunately, that’s what’s keeping their mother alive, so they can’t simply hand it over. They have managed to evade the evil circles so far, but it seems the magicians are getting desperate as they double their efforts to capture the family. Nick and Alan encounter more problems when two visitors come asking for their help. The brothers are forced to play a dangerous game of cat and mouse, while time is running out for them and the secrets of their past might destroy everything they have tried so hard to forge.

Nick is a character I was constantly getting irritated with. Though he has ample reason to be ticked off at the world because of the hand he’s been dealt in life, he tends to take everything to extremes. He’s always out to intimidate, maim or kill…even if he doesn’t quite understand why. The way the narrative is written, Nick plays a tug-of-war game with the reader, daring you to love him one moment and hate him the next until you’re not quite sure what is going on anymore.

This is how it played out for me: I pitied him. Then I disliked him for always taking things to the extreme. Then I liked him. Then…I understood him. That last one is rather creepy and I would explain what I mean, but then I’d give the entire book away.

It’s rare to find a book that sends me on such a roller-coaster. That’s what I loved about it. However, there were a couple of things that prevented the 5/5 rating.

First, the main female character’s purpose seems to be only to stir things up between Nick and Alan and she is never really fleshed out. The same goes with her brother. All we know is that he’s frail, shy, cute, caring and gay…dangerously leaning towards being a stereotypical character.

Hopefully the second book will flesh out these characters to the point where they can stand on their own. I look forward to reading it.

__________________________________________________________
RSS Feed
Like this blog?
Click here to subscribe to this feed in any reader or check out the sidebar for more options

2 Responses to The Demon’s Lexicon, by Sarah Rees Brennan

  1. I remember this book! One day it was not-that-great, then it was intriguing, and then it was I-can’t-put-it-down. Didn’t think it would have a second part.

    I still think the dude on the cover looks like the guy who plays Clark on Smallville. ^_^

    • Prisca says:

      LOL! You know, I didn’t want to say anything about the cover, but yeah, he sure does. Unfortunately, I don’t see much resemblance to the character in the story. Nick is just so much more than a pretty face. It would have been better if the boy in this picture at least looked angry and not…confused…

Leave a Reply

