News and a Contest

I am psyched! A few months ago, I decided to write a short story for the Abbey Hill Literary Challenge.  It is titled “SCAT” and it’s about a mother who wholeheartedly believes in the benefits of standardized tests…and her son, who feels quite differently (it all starts with a conversation and a drop of blood). Shortly after I submitted it, I forgot all about it and went on with my life.

Much to my surprise, I received an e-mail saying I won first prize! I am super happy about winning the contest and the opportunity to buy a new laptop with the winnings! Yay! (I’m sorry Toshiba, truly I am! You have been a great laptop and we’ve been through so much together–and that brief time apart when you were stolen, but that’s another story– but every time you overheat and shut off…well, it gets ugly!)

The winners, 1st through 4th, are: “SCAT” by me; “Children Will be Children But That Didn’t Explain” by Betti Patterson; “Big City Chaos” by Evan Kennedy; and an untitled entry by Dasha Kelly. Congratulations!

If you would like to read the stories, please click here.

___________________________________________________________

Speaking of contests, click here for an opportunity to win a copy of Jennifer Sturman’s new book: “And Then Everything Unraveled”, and a Magic Eight Ball Key Chain. All you have to do is post a comment. Many will play; three will win!

__________________________________________________________
RSS Feed
Like this blog?
Click here to subscribe to this feed in any reader

2 Responses to News and a Contest

  1. Prisca says:

    Thanks Elaine!

    I loved participating in the Quick Lit Challenge, it was great practice!

    -Prisca

  2. Hi Prisca,
    Congratulations again on your win — your story was excellent, and I would recommend that anyone who enjoys short stories read it!

    Thank you for mentioning Abbey Hill Literary, our link (www.ahliterary.com), and the other winners on your blog, and we would encourage any author who’s interested in short fiction contests to enter our new, 3rd Quarter Quick Lit Challenge. Now available this quarter — critiques!

    Best regards,
    Elaine Nelson
    Editor, Abbey Hill Literary

Leave a Reply

